Return to Headlines

Royse City ISD Honors School Board for Years of Service

January is School Board Recognition Month, and Royse City ISD joins the Texas Association of School Boards and other districts across the state to honor the countless contributions of these locally elected advocates for Texas schoolchildren and public schools.

“I am grateful for the leadership of our board of trustees as we have navigated the complexities of the COVID-19 pandemic. With more than 77 years of combined volunteerism and service on our school board, they have shown unwavering dedication to making Royse ISD a place for both students and staff to succeed,” said Superintendent Kevin Worthy. “From the formation to our college and career academy to major leaps in teacher pay, this school board has supported our strategic plans through sound budgeting and policy. Our growing school district will benefit for years to come as a result of the leadership of these seven school board members.”

School board members are locally elected community members and volunteers who shoulder enormous responsibility. As a team, they establish the policies that provide the framework for our great district. The Royse City ISD School Board Members have a track record of advocating for public schools and our students. Board members serving Royse City ISD are President Scott Muckensturm, Vice President Christina Carrion, Secretary Mike Anderson, Julie Stutts, Eric Fort, Bobby Summers, and Dr. Brian Zator.

Under their leadership, Royse City ISD was one of only 8 districts in the nation to be named a National Showcase District for Capturing Kids’ Hearts. In addition, the district successfully passed and completed Bond 2018 and recently passed Bond 2021 to address rapid student enrollment growth. Numerous projects are underway across the district.

Please join us in thanking these selfless volunteers for their service to the students, families, staff, and taxpayers of Royse City ISD.